The Drugstore Texturisers

My struggle to capture the bedhead look has been well documented. Plus, it’s been going since I was about 14 (so a third of my life, sob I’m old); most people by now would have thrown in the hairbrush and admitted it just wasn’t going to happen. But no! I refuse to give in; I’ve watched tutorials, bought me some tools and spent hours in front of the mirror styling then consciously unstyling my locks and I now stand before you a bedheaded winner. Oh, the glory.

My newly found confidence in the hair department can be well attributed to a small array of products marketed towards texturising, adding volume and creating a bit of body in my naturally fine hair. Sounding good so far? Oh, I’m just getting started. Oh yes, it gets better: these products are all available in the drugstore: #winning

VO5 Give me Texture Instant Oomph Powder £4.19

Perhaps the longest-reigning texturised in my stash, this dust brings me back to the early days of raiding Boots and buying anything that was pink with the words ‘instant’ on. I have always been a stickler for convenience. A fine white powder, all you need to do with this stuff is sprinkle it over your roots (I like to pretend I am sprinkling icing sugar over a cake) and rub it in for an instant boost and some handy root-oil-absorption. You can always put some of this in your palms then scrunch through the ends for added separation and definition in your lengths.

Used on clean or fine hair, this adds some much needed body but it can leave your hair feeling a little sticky and almost rough to the touch, so I’d recommend saving this for the day before a wash – especially since this almost doubles up as a dry shampoo – or for keeping in your bag for a quick day-night transition and an instant injection of big-hair glamour. Although I generally prefer texturising sprays to powder, this dinky bottle is perfect for on-the-go touch-ups; I always like to have it handy in my bag.

High-end: Bumble & Bumble Pret a Powder £21.50

 

Charles Worthington Volume & Bounce Texturising Spray £6.99

For those who dislike the sticky feeling that a fine dusting of texturising powder can leave in your hair, I give you a texturising spray. Quick, easy and a godsend for those with slightly longer hair (this packs more of an ‘oomph’ in the hold and styling department), a texturising spray will help create texture throughout your whole hair and not just at the roots. Whilst a powder is all about volume and oil-absorption with a lighter than light styling grip, this baby is all about the texture and separation.

This Charles Worthington offering is a great choice for anyone looking for someone to make an impact in their lank hair, and works just as well on thicker hair as it does on fine types (trust me, I’m serious about my research). Although it can feel a little sticky and crispy, shaking the can before use and making sure it’s a fair distance from your hair quickly solves that conundrum. Also, you can brush your hair with this stuff in and the volume will stay, making this a logical choice for those long, seemingly never-ending days that just keep on giving.

High-end: Oribe Dry Texturising Spray £39

 

Aussie Miracle Dry Shampoo Aussome Volume £2.29 or £4.99 depending on size

Ladies and Gentlemen, believe me when I say that I have saved the best ’til last. Also, believe me when I say (a little hysterically, I might add) that I FREAKIN’ LOVE THIS STUFF. Ahem.

This is the answer to all of my dry-shampoo and texture related dreams (not that I dream about hair products; I dream about Colin Firth, puppies, and what would happen if men could have babies). This gives you volume and texture without even a whiff of crispiness – it looks and feels entirely invisible in the hair – and doesn’t leave any of that telltale white residue that I have come to associate with some drugstore dry shampoos. And best of all, it is a kickass dry shampoo to boot. My hair = perfectly (un)done. My heart = won. Sigh.

High-end: Ojon Volume Advance Volumizing Styling Spray £23

Leave a Reply

