Clinique ‘Take the Day Off’ Cleansing Balm

Oooh golly, do I love me a good cleansing balm. They are just a godsend for dry and sensitive skins; thick, soothing and often oil-based, they are perfect for not irritating the skin whilst ensuring any makeup is removed quickly and thoroughly. Where do I sign?

Given that my skin makes hormonal teenage tantrums seem like a day at the funfair, the appeal of the Clinique ‘Take the Day Off’ Cleansing Balm* is obvious. No added fragrances, no irritants, no bells and whistles. A product that promises to remove your makeup and nothing more. Actually, that’s a lie, it promises to leave it happy, clean and feeling pampered. And that’s pretty much what it does. Normally the word ‘nice‘ brings with it rather weak and negative connotations, but I defy you to use this product and not think “Oh, this is nice!” with a beatific smile on your happy little face. Actually make that your happy little clean face.

At the first the consistency borders on the waxy side, but when rubbed into this skin this melts instantly into a scentless oil that dissolves stubborn makeup with ease. This stuff may be gentle and unassuming in its pretty purple packaging, but believe me when I say it takes no prisoners when it comes to makeup removal. Simply take about a fingertip’s worth of product, then massage it in for about a minute or so (a rather therapeutic experience, if you ask me) and rinse off/splash away with a washcloth to reveal your glowing complexion. Ahhh, bliss.

I have lent this product to quite a few friends over its short lifespan, and they have all come back to be independently and said rather giddily, “ooh it was like being in a spa!” and they aren’t lying. Perfect for pamper nights or just a bit of an everyday luxury, this is a product that will not irritate the most sensitive of skins and will still feel like a treat on the most hardy.

But – as with everything – there are a few negatives. For those of you without particularly sensitive skin, be warned: this will remove your makeup but nothing else. Fair enough it doesn’t promise to give you a whole new face in a single rinse, but it’s just something you ought to be aware of. Also, for the drier skinned ladies, I would like to point out that this is not the most hydrating balm out there. It’s not even close. I used this continuously for about 3 weeks every night, and during that time I had the flakiest skin on my forehead – seriously it was like my eyebrows had dandruff. Blech. As soon as I switched to another cleansing balm (REN, if you were wondering) that went away. So not suitable as an everyday cleanser for dry skins, but still lovely as the odd treat on a cold evening or pamper day. And perfect to have in when your skin does randomly flare up. Brillopads.

* Is it just me who thinks that the name of this stuff is genius? I guess it’s that the ritual taking my makeup off at the end of the day really does feel like a break and an escape from the everyday workload; I emerge from the bathroom clean and well-rested. Is that normal?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Clinique ‘Take the Day Off’ Cleansing Balm

    • Helen says:

      Ah you took the product right out of my mouth! Although I’ve heard that the DHC oil doesn’t have the best sensitive skin ingredients and thus can causes flareups and breakouts… Is this right? I think I’ll get a sample
      and trust you 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Mmm heaven in a tub 🙂 quite heavy on the essential oils though, so trod carefully if you’re fragrance-sensitive! I got my best friend hooked on the Hardie Stuff 😉

Leave a Reply

