Kiehl’s Skin Rescuer

My struggles with sensitive skin have been well documented. Seriously, all I have to do is look at something aimed at ‘normal’ skin with the slightest whiff of added fragrance/preservatives and I wake up the next morning with blistered skin, swollen eyes and a cheek full of eczema. It ain’t cute. I’ve done all of the tests; modified my diet, my skincare, moderated what fabrics I put on my skin… I still have no idea how to exit this cycle of irritation. But when my skin is freaking out and I need to calm it down in a jiffy, I do have a little routine of products that soothe my skin.

I ordered the Kiehl’s Skin Rescuer with a suitable amount of scepticism when my skin was having one of these spectular tantrum for no discernible reason. During these periods, I cannot use my usual moisturisers and treatments because everything burns upon application – I have to run around fanning my face and going “ooh! ooh!” for a minute or two – so I needed something to appease my dry and sensitive skin at these times.

From kiehls.com:

“This stress-minimizing daily hydrator combats the appearance of the visible signs of stress on the skin such as fatigued, dull-looking skin and uneven skin tone. Formulated with Mannose and Rosa Gallica, this formulation helps to fortify the skin barrier function, helping protect the skin from showing the impact of daily stressors”

Couldn’t have said it better myself. Unlike my standard routine, I can actually apply this fragrance-free cream on my burning skin without causing further pain, it’s so incredibly soothing. You know those adverts for ulcer cream where the little cartoon fireman cools the ulcer and gives it a cuddle? Well, that’s pretty much exactly how this feels. It rocks. The effects are more immediate and more effective than with any other sensitivity-relieving product that I have tried, and although I don’t use this everyday (it’s moisturising but not enough for my eternally parched skin) I think I will always have this in my stocks for these flare-ups. It also provides a pretty hefty dose of glow, perfect for diffusing that beetroot redness.

You may have noticed from the pretty vague description from Kiehls that this is not a product aimed at sensitive skins per se; it’s marketed directly to stressed skins i.e. everyone. But this is not merely a clever ploy on Kiehl’s part to appeal to a mass audience; I really can see this working for everyone. Its lightweight consistency and light moisturisation makes it perfect for oily/combination/normal skins, and drier types can easily use this underneath/with their moisturiser to keep their skin glowing and dry patches at bay. At £29.50 it sounds pretty steep, but a bottle will last you – with daily use – about 4 months, thanks to its lightweight texture (with a heavyweight performance), even longer if you’re using it intermittently like me.

Have you tried this? Do you have any sensitive skin recommendations?

 

3 thoughts on “Kiehl’s Skin Rescuer

  1. chloeefrench says:

    I neeeed to try this out! I am yet to find a moisturiser for when my skin is having a hissy fit so this sounds great! Loved this post by the way, I adore how you write! So witty and short but with amazing vocabulary! Could read this all day 😀

Leave a Reply

