Bumble & Bumble Semisumo

Now, I don’t know about you, but the words ‘hair gel’ always bring to mind those old gloopy concoctions I used to crack out when scrunching my hair to make curls so crispy you’d almost think they were bacon. Maybe it’s because I used to use my brothers’ stuff (often Garnier) or maybe it’s because at 12 years old ‘moderation’ was just too long a word to bother with, but those greasy hair gels of old would weigh my already fine hair down like nobody’s business. Even when I had my hair cut into a pixie cut (also known as my ‘edgy’ phase) I just couldn’t get to grips with the gel; they always left my hair crispy, crunchy and unfetchingly straw like.

Fast forward nearly a decade (oh God I’m old) and the hair gel scene of old has undergone a bit of an overhaul. Gone are the suspiciously-textured and deodorant-smelling gels, replaced by their younger, sexier lightweight sisters. Whoo-Whoo! Indeed, it is now easy to create that ‘done but undone’ look championed by Alexa Chung and the Olsen sisters in mere seconds, with the tiniest bit of product. #iwokeuplikethis #actuallynotreally #butstill

Perhaps the champions of this tousled just-got-out-of-bed look are Bumble & Bumble, the bloggers’ favourite. I first picked up their Semisumo up in Boots about a year ago and I am still only about a third of the way through, having used this most days. Seriously, this stuff lasts forever; you need the tiniest tiniest bit, rubbed between the very tips of your fingers and lightly scrunched through the ends of the hair and boom! You have separation, volume and some light undone texture, even in the straightest hair. And the best bit? It dries completely matte, but not crispy in the slightest. In fact, used right, it’s pretty much undetectable.

Careful though, because too much will threaten to weigh down finer hair types and if used too near the roots – particularly on blonde hair – it can look a little like you just haven’t washed in a while. How grunge of you. But go slow, a bit at a time, and you’re golden.

Leave a Reply

