Dusted off #1

I am a woman on a mission. A mission to banish all the half-empty products currently littering all available surfaces, bags and drawers. Of course, I’d like to state that this mission is all in the name of streamlining my collection, but it rather seems that I am to be operating a strict one three-in-one-out policy. I better hurry up, then.

Clinique Moisture Surge CC Cream in ‘light’ – £28

Short version: I like this, I like this a lot. Slighter longer version: this cream is delicious, blending into the skin like a dream – it practically does all the work for you, leaving you with a radiant, dewy glow. Oilier skin types may need to powder a little, otherwise they may find themselves crossing the fine line between dewy and just-plain-sweaty. Perhaps my favourite thing about this is the coverage; easily medium, covering any redness with ease and doing a good job at tackling any blemishes. Staying power is pretty decent, too, lasting an easy 8 hours on my dry skin without primer. There are two slight cons, however, in that, unlike its other BB/CC counterparts, this can feel a little heavy on the skin (in the sense that I can put my hand on my face when wearing this and feel the makeup) so on hot hot days this isn’t ideal. Also, I’m not sure the ‘moisture surge’ tag on this product is entirely merited – moisturiser still required, but then my skin gives the Sahara a run for its money in terms of dryness.

Repurchase? Yep, although may save for the winter months, when coverage and a heavier finish is needed.

Clinique All About Eyes Rich – £25 

What is it about eye creams that make them so damn expensive? I’m not sure whether your eye just requires a finer blend of ingredients, or because the skin is so delicate you need to sift out all the bad ingredients, but there’s something about forking out £25 for 15ml of product makes me a bit uneasy. Just buy a cheaper eye cream then, I can hear you grumble; Oh, sweet reader, if only it were that easy. My eyes are extremely sensitive, turning red and raw at the drop of a hat, so sore I can barely blink and making me look like some sort of diseased, eczema-ridden Doctor Who extra. I need an eye cream that moisturises, without the bells and whistles – and this cream does just that. Since starting using this twice a day, my eyes are moisturised and happy… And who doesn’t love happy eyes! It lasts a good 3-4 months, too, so in the long run the price per use isn’t so bad.

Repurchase? Wasn’t planning on, but since seeing what else is on the market (and nearly going blind), I think I just might!

Soap and Glory Kick Ass Concealer – £10 

As I am sure you’re aware, my main problem is shutting up. On and on I ramble, reaching the point of reasonable reader expectation and far surpassing it. But this product… Meh. I just don’t have much to say about it! Don’t get me wrong, it’s not terrible. But it’s not brilliant either. At just £6 less than my HG concealer Boi-ing, and nearly £6 more than my daily favourite, Collection Lasting Perfection, I just can’t justify this as a repurchase. It’s nice to apply, and you can mix the two colours to reach the desired coverage/finish (there’s a pinkier one for brightening and a yellow toned one for redness), but I find it quite drying, especially under the eyes (not great for an ‘all purpose concealer’), and the lasting power is pretty poor to be honest.

Repurchase? Nope!

Batiste Dry Shampoo in ‘Fresh’ – £1.99

Gotta be careful here not to turn this into some sort of ode to Batiste. Cheap, cheerful and constant, I always need to have a can of this stuff in my stash. I’m sure you all know what the purpose of a dry shampoo is so I won’t go on and on (and on..) but a quick spritz of this in greasy hair, a ruffle and voila! instant volume, messy texture… The kind of ‘do it looks like you’ve spent hours creating. Countless salt sprays, and this is the nearest I have come to that much-coveted Kate Moss bedhead look.  This fragrance is pretty inoffensive, almost undectable, but personally I prefer the tropical variety, though I am pretty tempted by the invisible Lace version.

Repurchase? Yes, yes, a thousand times yes!

Origins Make a Difference + Rejuvenating Moisturiser and Ultra-Rich Rejuvenating Cream – £34

Oh, how the price point makes me weep. But I have come to the conclusion that these are worth it, due to the fact that they satisfy my ever-thirsty skin and I no longer have to worry about adverse reactions or burning sensations. I just have to apply carefully and sparingly. From the scent, texture and effect, these moisturisers are delicious, I really can’t fault them – the rich cream (green tub) is especially good in the wintertime, or as a good repairing night cream. My search for a lower-priced moisturiser continues, so if you have any suggestions I’d love to hear!

Repurchase? Yes, although I cannot guarantee my long-term loyalty.

So there we have it, my first batch of emptied products. I doubt anyone has actually reached this point of the post; I’m working on succinct writing, promise I am! If you have any suggestions for posts/reviews, I’d love to hear them 🙂

Leave a Reply

